DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

#1 2007-05-21 06:51:06

beattie
Member / Developer
From: West Coast, USA
Registered: 2006-11-17
Posts: 92
Website

upgraded development machine, can't build valid ramdisk

I upgraded my development machine to Ubuntu Feisty Fawn and now can't build a valid ramdisk image.  It is very confusing.  Has anybody else run into something like this?

Offline

 

#2 2007-05-22 09:15:06

qn1234
Member
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 94

Re: upgraded development machine, can't build valid ramdisk

If you're talking about ramdisk for Ubuntu, be aware that it's using cpio to create ramdisk.

Offline

 

#3 2007-05-23 09:23:17

beattie
Member / Developer
From: West Coast, USA
Registered: 2006-11-17
Posts: 92
Website

Re: upgraded development machine, can't build valid ramdisk

At least in the case of the DSM-g600, you are mistaken, prior to upgrading my development machine I was building fw images that worked just fine.  In fact others have used them.

Offline

 

#4 2007-05-23 15:24:05

fonz
Member / Developer
From: Berlin
Registered: 2007-02-06
Posts: 1716
Website

Re: upgraded development machine, can't build valid ramdisk

beattie wrote:

can't build a valid ramdisk image

How is it failing and what commands are you using to create the ramdisk - is it initrd or initramfs?

Offline

 

#5 2007-05-23 17:07:18

beattie
Member / Developer
From: West Coast, USA
Registered: 2006-11-17
Posts: 92
Website

Re: upgraded development machine, can't build valid ramdisk

remember this is not a standard desktop system...it is not an initrd image.

It fails when trying to upload (using thye web interface) the firmware image.  As best as I can tell, the ramdisk image is too big (because the kernel is the same size).  I have eliminated my program fwbuild and mkimage which is built from the u-boot sources.  It also does not seem to be genext2fs.  What is confusing to me, is that using the Build_DSM-0.4 tarball that I used to build the 0.4 firmware used by others, I can no longer build a usable fw image.

If you want to know how I did it, grab the tarball from http://download.dsmg600.info/people/bea … SM-0.4.tgz though I warn you it's a pretty hairy bunch of makefiles.

Offline

 

#6 2007-05-24 07:47:05

beattie
Member / Developer
From: West Coast, USA
Registered: 2006-11-17
Posts: 92
Website

Re: upgraded development machine, can't build valid ramdisk

Well I don't yet know what it is, but I can confirm that it something in the build environment.  I installed Ubuntu Edgy Eft in a vmware virtual machine and I can build 0.4 that loads and runs just find.


hmmmmmm!!! very strange! I suspect a library issue.

Offline

 

#7 2007-05-25 13:01:31

sala
Member / Site Admin
From: Estonia
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 731
Website

Re: upgraded development machine, can't build valid ramdisk

Just offtopic, beattie have you tried Gentoo linux? Its way better than debian (ubuntu). Some year ago I did use debian for all my pc's mainly because of package manager, but more and more I did find myself with some package/library conflicts and absolutle no control over these situations. But now with gentoo not any more smile


DSM-G600 - NetBSD hdd-boot - 80GB Samsung SP0802N
NSA-220 - Gentoo armv5tel 20110121 hdd-boot - 2x 2TB WD WD20EADS

Offline

 

#8 2007-05-25 13:18:39

fonz
Member / Developer
From: Berlin
Registered: 2007-02-06
Posts: 1716
Website

Re: upgraded development machine, can't build valid ramdisk

My first thought was that it might be gcc3 vs gcc4,  old tar vs. new tar problem or so, but couldn't find anything in the sources that would support this. Still I don't think, switching to gentoo helps much. I don't like debian, too, but I think this is rather a problem with the toolchain, not depending on who packages the software.

beattie: have you checked (using hexdump) whether the fw-header is correct? I ask because there's no "__packed__" attribute, allowing the compiler to realign fields in the structure...

Offline

 

#9 2007-05-27 23:21:38

beattie
Member / Developer
From: West Coast, USA
Registered: 2006-11-17
Posts: 92
Website

Re: upgraded development machine, can't build valid ramdisk

The firmware header looks ok, the only thing I see is that the ramdisk image is bigger, in fact I can build a firmware image that works, by stripping things out, so it's not a "bad" image, just the image is too large.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB