DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

#26 2010-07-27 16:51:11

RoganDawes
Member
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 44

Re: I have bricked my DNS-323... Please point me in a direction...

clefranc wrote:

Back to my first post, same errors...

Which firmware version I must use?

Bah! Sorry, I guess I haven't been much help.

I'd suggest using the latest firmware. 1.09 is out.

Offline

 

#27 2010-07-27 17:36:14

clefranc
Member
Registered: 2007-08-03
Posts: 8

Re: I have bricked my DNS-323... Please point me in a direction...

Everything after this line go bad:
Bad inode number on dev mtdblock0: 65535 is out of range

Anyone have a clue? Bad memory, flash, hardware, etc.?

EDIT
Done a mkfs.minix /dev/mtdblock0 now I've Web access, after all.
Will try to update to latest firmware now...

Thank you very much RoganDawes

Last edited by clefranc (2010-07-27 17:42:32)

Offline

 

#28 2010-07-27 17:46:07

RoganDawes
Member
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 44

Re: I have bricked my DNS-323... Please point me in a direction...

clefranc wrote:

Everything after this line go bad:
Bad inode number on dev mtdblock0: 65535 is out of range

Anyone have a clue? Bad memory, flash, hardware, etc.?

Possibly bad flash, I guess.

That said, you never made a new filesystem on /dev/mtdblock0, which may be part of the problem.

First, check the sizes of the partitions, and make a backup of them at the same time:

Code:

for i in 0 1 2 3 4; do
  dd if=/dev/mtdblock${i} of=/mnt/HD_a2/mtdblock${i}
done
ls -l /mnt/HD_a2/mtdblock*

The settings are in two 64kB Minix filesystems, which should be mtdblock0 and mtdblock1. Check the size in the listing above, they should be 65536 bytes.

If they are, then make a minix filesystem on them:

Code:

mkfs.minix /dev/mtdblock0
mkfs.minix /dev/mtdblock1

Try mount the filesystems:

Code:

mkdir /mnt/mtdblock0
mkdir /mnt/mtdblock1
mount /dev/mtdblock0 /mnt/mtdblock0
mount /dev/mtdblock1 /mnt/mtdblock1

Check for any files on them:

Code:

find /mnt/mtdblock0
find /mnt/mtdblock1

Check for errors:

Code:

dmesg

Offline

 

#29 2010-07-27 17:47:42

RoganDawes
Member
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 44

Re: I have bricked my DNS-323... Please point me in a direction...

clefranc wrote:

EDIT
Done a mkfs.minix /dev/mtdblock0 now I've Web access, after all.
Will try to update to latest firmware now...

Thank you very much RoganDawes

Aha! That's what I thought. Sorry for steering you wrong earlier.

Good thing it was not your u-boot partition that was overwritten!

Offline

 

#30 2011-07-08 21:16:44

bjby
Member
Registered: 2009-02-22
Posts: 265

Re: I have bricked my DNS-323... Please point me in a direction...

This is the most extensive unbrick thread I have found. Ill extend it some more.


I seems to be a limit on the ramdisk size of 0x005e0000 = 6 160 384 bytes in the uboot loadb r command (see below*). If I understand correct others in this thread has also suffered from it and solved it by loading a smaller ramdisk and later booted in a richer environment overwrite the mtdblock3 with raw write dd or cat.

I tried to find a firmware which fits this limit, alt-f dns 1.06 and 1.04 they all exceed it. The native debian firmware however fits the limit. I have successfully recoved into native debian (http://www.cyrius.com/debian/orion/d-li … overy.html). My plan is to do a default install of debian then somehow download my backups of the last good state of mdblock2/3 and write them back raw using cat. I am currently running the install. Lets see how my plan works out.


*
u-boot complains about ramdisk size.....

------------------------------
Erased 1 sectors
..................................... done
Erased 1 sectors
....................................... done
Erased 1 sectors
Ramdisk Size = 6389748
error,Ramdisk size > 005e0000 byesMarvell>>

Last edited by bjby (2011-07-08 21:17:19)

Offline

 

#31 2011-07-09 13:09:44

bjby
Member
Registered: 2009-02-22
Posts: 265

Re: I have bricked my DNS-323... Please point me in a direction...

It worked. I installed native debian and then wrote back my backup to block2/3 and the rootfilesystem which was a USB stick. I am back to restorepoint as of 20110601. Sweet!

Lets conclude, whats steps is needed and how hard are they.

1. Get parts for serial cable.
    Medium it wasnt entirly clear how to get hold of the connector i searched for "1.25 mm connector" on ebay and that worked
2. Figure out which cable goes to which cable
    Medium there are good instructions but I failed my first attempt anyhow, however if you read carefully and follow instructions it really shouldnt be a problem
3. Soldering wires
    easy, this is only a a matter of connecting wire to wire
4. Disassemble dns323
    easy
5. Recover into debian installer using serialcable
    easy
6. Install debian
    medium, there is an annoying bug in the installer when setting up partions on usb which causes it to sometimes hang. I had to do a couple of retries.
    I have now seen there are workarounds for this making install stable.
7. Write back image backups to mtdblock2/3 and usb-stick
    easy

Offline

 

#32 2012-12-21 18:36:44

qwerty_74
New member
Registered: 2012-12-21
Posts: 1

Re: I have bricked my DNS-323... Please point me in a direction...

bhouse wrote:

Dear Sharp Rock,

I have un-bricked my DNS -323

It seems that loadb r and loadb k always load to address 0x10000.
Hence your trick with the cp command helped me. Thanks

I did the following:
- loadb r (sending kernel from firmware 1.7)
- cp ramdisk to a higher address for example 0x2000000 (by the way, this address seems out of the 8 MB Flash ROM. I do not understand where it is. Do you ?)
- loadb k
- bootm 100000 2000000

Then the DNS 323 boots alright, but hangs at "ehci_platform ehci_platform.20865: EHCI Host Controller" for 31 mn. You just have to wait that long!

I was then able to update the firmware using the standard web interface!!!

Hi Sharp Rock - Was this the C1 that you were able to do this with?

If so would you mind giving me more instructions on how to do this?  I made a serial cable and can see that it stops at booting Kernal - never goes past.

How do I do these steps.

- loadb r (sending kernel from firmware 1.7)
- cp ramdisk to a higher address for example 0x2000000 (by the way, this address seems out of the 8 MB Flash ROM. I do not understand where it is. Do you ?)
- loadb k
- bootm 100000 2000000

Offline

 

#33 2014-05-24 10:56:30

sasman20
New member
Registered: 2014-05-20
Posts: 2

Re: I have bricked my DNS-323... Please point me in a direction...

Hey I have a DNS 323 which I think I have bricked as I was trying to update the firmware but the web page crashed and as I wanted to sleep I couldnt be bothered to wait for it. How can I confirm its bricked? I cannot browse to the config page I just get page cannot be displayed.

Cheers
Sas

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB