DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-21 15:35:49

lillpip
New member
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 3

Maximum size of harddrives in the DSM-G600

I know this question has been asked before but most seems to be old topics.
So I ask the question again; What is the Maximum working harddrive that can be used in the DSM-G600?
According to D-Link it's 400 GB, both internally and external.
Finding a 400 GB disk isn't the easiest, but finding a 500 gb is more easy.

Last edited by lillpip (2009-03-21 15:36:11)

Offline

 

#2 2009-03-22 03:37:32

ce_runner
Member
Registered: 2009-03-13
Posts: 5

Re: Maximum size of harddrives in the DSM-G600

I running a 500Gig Maxtor in a G600 REV B (FW 1.02) without incident. Go for it.. ce

Offline

 

#3 2009-03-22 16:09:24

lillpip
New member
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 3

Re: Maximum size of harddrives in the DSM-G600

Ah nice smile
Then I will order a 500 GB USB-disk then.
What is the brand of your disk btw?

Offline

 

#4 2009-03-25 02:42:28

ce_runner
Member
Registered: 2009-03-13
Posts: 5

Re: Maximum size of harddrives in the DSM-G600

I put a Maxtor in it just because it was on sale. Western Digital or any EIDE drive will work..

Offline

 

#5 2010-09-27 14:37:03

psechser
New member
Registered: 2010-09-10
Posts: 3

Re: Maximum size of harddrives in the DSM-G600

... know, it's an old topic, but thought I give my 5 cents:

I used a 750gb disk, but it only shows 680gb for use.

Offline

 

#6 2010-09-27 15:35:04

sala
Member / Site Admin
From: Estonia
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 731
Website

Re: Maximum size of harddrives in the DSM-G600

psechser wrote:

... know, it's an old topic, but thought I give my 5 cents:

I used a 750gb disk, but it only shows 680gb for use.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hard_disk_ … asurements
Additionally final usable size depends on file system.


DSM-G600 - NetBSD hdd-boot - 80GB Samsung SP0802N
NSA-220 - Gentoo armv5tel 20110121 hdd-boot - 2x 2TB WD WD20EADS

Offline

 

#7 2011-05-02 10:18:08

elen011
New member
Registered: 2011-05-02
Posts: 1

Re: Maximum size of harddrives in the DSM-G600

it was very nice to read this post. I think a should brought a 500 GB USB disk then

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB