DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

#26 2007-07-16 12:32:51

sala
Member / Site Admin
From: Estonia
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 731
Website

Re: Telnet login

First test out your fun_plug with test lines

Code:

#!/bin/sh
dmesg > /mnt/HD_a2/dmesg.out

If you cant see dmesg.out at the root of your hard disk after reboot then you have either put fun_plug at the wrong place or permissions is still incorrect.


DSM-G600 - NetBSD hdd-boot - 80GB Samsung SP0802N
NSA-220 - Gentoo armv5tel 20110121 hdd-boot - 2x 2TB WD WD20EADS

Offline

 

#27 2007-07-16 20:59:29

bkamen
Member
From: Central East Illinois, USA
Registered: 2007-07-16
Posts: 80
Website

Re: Telnet login

Yea, doesn't work...

(no surprise)

I followed the instructions for fun plug option #5 using the DSM.

I'm in HD_a2 and ls -l through FTP shows perms as 777

Again - should I just pull the drive and mount it on another linux box?

And am I really writing to root (/) or /somemount/HD_a2

the fun_plug howto says, "/usr/sbin/chk_fun_plug will check for file called fun_plug on the disks root and then executes it."

but to me, root is / and not /anywhere/anything.

??

Thanks,

-Ben


--
Ben - Don't Ask me how I fixed it - I have no idea what I'm doing!
============================================
http://www.benjammin.net/

Offline

 

#28 2007-07-16 21:46:10

sala
Member / Site Admin
From: Estonia
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 731
Website

Re: Telnet login

It depends if you have shared your hard drive root. But if you like you can try to put it multiple locations, if you are not sure. Also you can mount your drive to real linux box and make all necessary steps on a regular pc.


DSM-G600 - NetBSD hdd-boot - 80GB Samsung SP0802N
NSA-220 - Gentoo armv5tel 20110121 hdd-boot - 2x 2TB WD WD20EADS

Offline

 

#29 2007-07-16 22:12:45

bkamen
Member
From: Central East Illinois, USA
Registered: 2007-07-16
Posts: 80
Website

Re: Telnet login

The web interface only seems to allow sharing from a certain start point that is definitely not /

I can't see any of the usual root dir kinds of stuff like /etc, /usr, /var, /tmp and so on.

I'll try mounting it up on a real linux box.

In the meantime, I'd have to say that unless I'm doing something wrong, option 5 for telnet setup just
doesn't fly for v1.02 of the firmware.

(and yes, I set up my users and shares with the ROOT option when available.. and I seem to still end up
in some subdir to "/" )

I'll be back with results.

Thanks for the quick replies.

-Ben


--
Ben - Don't Ask me how I fixed it - I have no idea what I'm doing!
============================================
http://www.benjammin.net/

Offline

 

#30 2007-07-16 22:22:44

sala
Member / Site Admin
From: Estonia
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 731
Website

Re: Telnet login

At the root of your disk there is no /etc /usr or /tmp. File system is located in ramdisk and has nothing to do with fun_plug location. You should just put fun_plug at the root of your hard disk.
If you get confused about /mnt/HD_a2, /somemount/HD_a2 and some other path then your only option is to do this on a regular pc.


DSM-G600 - NetBSD hdd-boot - 80GB Samsung SP0802N
NSA-220 - Gentoo armv5tel 20110121 hdd-boot - 2x 2TB WD WD20EADS

Offline

 

#31 2007-07-16 23:23:18

bkamen
Member
From: Central East Illinois, USA
Registered: 2007-07-16
Posts: 80
Website

Re: Telnet login

Got it working.

UltraEdit (for windows) I have set to DEFAULT to unix files and it wrote this one out as
DOS for some reason. (arf)

Thanks!

-Ben


--
Ben - Don't Ask me how I fixed it - I have no idea what I'm doing!
============================================
http://www.benjammin.net/

Offline

 

#32 2008-04-22 06:42:42

tienhn
New member
Registered: 2008-04-22
Posts: 1

Re: Telnet login

Hi,
I have followed the fun_plug instruction and reboot my DSM-G600. But still have no Telnet access:

$ telnet 10.0.1.102
Trying 10.0.1.102...
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection refused

What did I do wrong?
I have had fun_plug, sed, and busybox at the root of HD_a2 and they all have 777 mode on.

TIA.

Offline

 

#33 2008-04-22 14:34:43

sala
Member / Site Admin
From: Estonia
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 731
Website

Re: Telnet login

tienhn wrote:

Hi,
I have followed the fun_plug instruction and reboot my DSM-G600. But still have no Telnet access:

$ telnet 10.0.1.102
Trying 10.0.1.102...
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection refused

What did I do wrong?
I have had fun_plug, sed, and busybox at the root of HD_a2 and they all have 777 mode on.

TIA.

There can be many things wrong, for example files can be at wrong place, not really chmoded to 777 and fun_plug can be in Windows format.

First you should make sure that you have working fun_plug. Add only these 2 lines to fun plug and see if dmesg.out did show up after reboot, if not then you have failed to install fun_plug correctly.

Code:

#!/bin/sh
dmesg > /mnt/HD_a2/dmesg.out

DSM-G600 - NetBSD hdd-boot - 80GB Samsung SP0802N
NSA-220 - Gentoo armv5tel 20110121 hdd-boot - 2x 2TB WD WD20EADS

Offline

 

#34 2008-05-18 03:17:27

hackbob
New member
Registered: 2008-05-18
Posts: 2

Re: Telnet login

Hi all,

I've used the specified package for the telnet installation, but i'm not able to log in as the root.

This is my shadow file

Code:

admin:$1$$7wu83PSmtDiyCMN277WeC1:0:0:99999:7:::
nobody:pACwI1fCXYNw6:0:0:99999:7:::
chiara:f6RjqzgYZ7udk:11233:0:99999:7:::
mauro:dLV7FGVSVoPOU:11233:0:99999:7:::
family:I6oiLjsM/710k:11233:0:99999:7:::
root:Lnrqv6ozs4FEc:0:0:99999:7:::
root:$1$$7wu83PSmtDiyCMN277WeC1:0:0:99999:7::: kontroll.admin:Lnrqv6ozs4FEc:0:0:99999:7:::

It's possible that the double line with root (the last 2) create some problem with the login?

sorry to be such a newbie, but if the problem are those 2 line how can i remove the wrong 1?

Thx in advance,

hack

P.S. i' have a CH3WNAS

Offline

 

#35 2008-05-18 10:42:24

BertrandB
Member
From: Dijon (France)
Registered: 2006-09-16
Posts: 119
Website

Re: Telnet login

hackbob wrote:

Hi all,

've used the specified package for the telnet installation, but i'm not able to log in as the root.

This is my shadow file

Code:

admin:$1$$7Iwu83PSmtDiyCMN277WeC1:0:0:99999:7:::
nobody:pACwI1fCXYNw6:0:0:99999:7:::
chiara:f6RjqzgYZ7udk:11233:0:99999:7:::
mauro:dLV7FGVSVoPOU:11233:0:99999:7:::
family:I6oiLjsM/710k:11233:0:99999:7:::
root:Lnrqv6ozs4FEc:0:0:99999:7:::
root:$1$$7wu83PSmtDiyCMN277WeC1:0:0:99999:7::: kontroll.admin:Lnrqv6ozs4FEc:0:0:99999:7:::

It's possible that the double line with root (the last 2) create some problem with the login?

sorry to be such a newbie, but if the problem are those 2 line how can i remove the wrong 1?

Thx in advance,

hack

P.S. i' have a CH3WNAS

Yes the double line is the problem you nedd to modify the shadow file and flash it again. You can flash just creating another user.
The fisrt root is the line to delete.

other solution :
add at the begin of your fun_plug

Code:

/mnt/HD_a2/sed -i -e '/^root/d' /etc/shadow
mount /sys/mtd1
cp /etc/shadow /sys/mtd1
umount /sys/mtd1

reboot and you can come back to your old fun_plug

May be sala modify his fun_plug script to supress all root line in /etc/shadow to prevent al the flash problems

Last edited by BertrandB (2008-05-18 11:22:24)

Offline

 

#36 2008-05-18 13:03:06

hackbob
New member
Registered: 2008-05-18
Posts: 2

Re: Telnet login

Thx a lot it work fine now.

Offline

 

#37 2008-06-20 16:17:08

p.r.
Member
Registered: 2008-05-28
Posts: 9

Re: Telnet login

I've tried to crosscompile busybox with telnetd support, but telnet connection is not possible:
telnet> open 192.168.1.3
Trying 192.168.1.3...
Connected to 192.168.1.3.
Escape character is '^]'.
Connection closed by foreign host.

What's the secret of configuring busybox-telnetd-1.2.1?


Problem SOLVED.
There are some critical configuration parameters:

#
# General Configuration
#
...
# CONFIG_FEATURE_DEVPTS is not set
...
CONFIG_FEATURE_SUID=y
...
CONFIG_BUSYBOX_EXEC_PATH="/proc/self/exe"
...
#
# Build Options
#
...
USING_CROSS_COMPILER=y
CROSS_COMPILER_PREFIX="powerpc-linux-uclibc-"
...
#
# Login/Password Management Utilities
#
...
CONFIG_FEATURE_SHADOWPASSWDS=y
...
CONFIG_LOGIN=y
...
#
# Miscellaneous Utilities
#
...
CONFIG_MAKEDEVS=y
CONFIG_FEATURE_MAKEDEVS_LEAF=y
...
#
# Networking Utilities
#
...
CONFIG_TELNETD=y
# CONFIG_FEATURE_TELNETD_INETD is not set
...
#
# Shells
#
...
CONFIG_FEATURE_SH_IS_ASH=y
...
CONFIG_ASH=y
...
#
# Bourne Shell Options
#
...
CONFIG_FEATURE_SH_STANDALONE_SHELL=y
...

Last edited by p.r. (2008-07-11 00:53:01)

Offline

 

#38 2008-08-05 00:31:06

seampaul
New member
From: vite-net
Registered: 2008-08-05
Posts: 1
Website

Re: Telnet login

thanksssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

Offline

 

#39 2010-09-11 01:56:41

Igorian
New member
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 2

Re: Telnet login

I see this topic is old, but I'm hoping Sala, or someone else in the know would have a direction for me.  I've searched through other topics too, and have come up dry, but this is the closest...

I'm hoping to utilize the DSM-G600 in a similar way of DD-WRT CFW for routers to enable / get mjproxy (MagicJack Proxy / aka MJMD5 for linux) to work.  I'm thinking maybe the problem is with the version of the kernel, the version of busybox, or the source code that I had found to compile the mjproxy needing to be tweaked to work (I compiled it by the way with a Knoppix bootable DVD image that I've had for a year or so).

code:
#
# pwd
/mnt/HD_a2/mjproxy
# ./mjproxy 0.0.0.0 5070 proxy01.seattle.talk4free.com 5070 mypassword
./mjproxy: 1: Syntax error: "(" unexpected
#

I can provide the location of where I got the mjproxy if needed.  I don't have it right now, but I'd found it using Google.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Igorian (2010-09-11 22:48:49)

Offline

 

#40 2010-09-11 20:20:36

sala
Member / Site Admin
From: Estonia
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 731
Website

Re: Telnet login

Igorian wrote:

./mjproxy: 1: Syntax error: "(" unexpected

You must cross-compile this program to ppc architecture against uclibc libraries.


DSM-G600 - NetBSD hdd-boot - 80GB Samsung SP0802N
NSA-220 - Gentoo armv5tel 20110121 hdd-boot - 2x 2TB WD WD20EADS

Offline

 

#41 2010-09-13 20:55:26

Igorian
New member
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 2

Re: Telnet login

You must cross-compile this program to ppc architecture against uclibc libraries.

Many thanks Sala.  I may need further help however.  I'd like to do as much work on my own without bugging as possilbe, but I am by no means at a level that I have full understanding.  I can read, but it doesn't all make sense to me.

What I have done is I downloaded the Buildroot and did a 'make allyesconfig' followed by a 'make menuconfig' to ensure that it was going to port the toolchain to powerpc (i386 was default).  Well, after typing 'make' I get an error...

code:
knoppix@Knoppix:/mnt/sdh1/Buildroot/buildroot-snapshot.tar/buildroot$ make
boot/u-boot/u-boot.mk:197: *** NO U-Boot board name set. Check your BR2_TARGET_UBOOT_BOARDNAME setting.  Stop.

Here's the line: BR2_TARGET_UBOOT_BOARDNAME=""

I don't know what would be appropriate for that field.  Also, am I heading in the right direction at least, or am I on a goose chase?  Thanks again!

Last edited by Igorian (2010-09-13 21:07:19)

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB